Topic

GSMNP for late September

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists GSMNP for late September

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Eric Brigman
    Spectator

@engine386

Locale: Central Florida

Its been a few years since I've gone backpacking, and this is my first attempt at going ultralight/light. I've been gaining insight from BPL and picking up gear throughout the summer… Please take a look at my 3 season list and let me know what you think.

http://www.geargrams.com/list?id=8640

-Thanks in advace, Eric

Caleb Boyle

@calebb

Hi Eric,

I think the answer to your questions would depend on the elevation that you plan on camping at. You can probably do without the fleece for hiking(you have the down jacket for insulation when stopped). But if you are planning on camping @ 4000ft+, I would want a warmer bag. For reference, Leconte lodge has already been reporting lows near 40f this week. But if you intend to stay at a lower elav temps should be much milder.

http://www.nps.gov/grsm/planyourvisit/weather.htm

What about clothing worn? Pants? Might want some tights or a baselayer depending on the forecast.

Caleb

Eric Brigman
    Spectator

@engine386

yea, I think your right about not needing the fleece for hiking. Campsites for the trip will be @ 3000' and 5000'. Also, I'll just be sleeping in my hiking clothes… pants/long sleeve shirt.

Five Star
    BPL Member

@mammoman

Locale: NE AL

JMO, but unless you regularly use that 0-degree bag for winter camping somewhere, I'd sell it on gear swap or something and put the proceeds towards a proper quilt. A 30 degree quilt +/- combined with clothing should get you down to 20 if needed….and if you're camping at 5000 ft. in the Smokies next month, you should be prepared for the possibility of freezing temps. Rain also.

Eric Brigman
    Spectator

@engine386