Topic

Mesh topped bivy under a 5X8 tarp in cold weather?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Mesh topped bivy under a 5X8 tarp in cold weather?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Andrew Weldon
    BPL Member

@hypnolobster

I'm planning on an october thru-hike of the Vermont Long Trail. Tarp is (probably) going to be the Integral Designs 5×8 tarp. I'm on a fairly minimal budget, and I'd like to stay well under $200 for tarp/bivy/groundsheet/accessories. Cheaper and far lighter than a Tarptent Contrail, which is what it's all replacing.

My issue is that I don't know how unwise a completely ventilated bivy would be under a tarp in 15-28f nights. I can't think of any particular issues, but I have very little experience with cold nights. I've been down in the 20's before, but always in a tent and never for ~25 days straight.

It's important to note that I probably will spend a significant amount of my time in shelters, but I'd like to continue this setup for other trips and have a viable 3-season/mild chance of snow setup to rely on heavily if needed.

I'm open to particular bivy suggestions (well under $100 would be preferable). My sleeping pad is a Neoair 72" (it looks like the Titanium Goat bivys are out because of this, unfortunately. Space issues?), not sure on the sleeping bag yet, but it'll be some nice lofty 20 degree bag.

John S.
    BPL Member

@jshann

http://milesgear.com/EBivy.html

Not sure if it will fit a 20 bag and neoair.

Chad “Stick” Poindexter
    BPL Member

@stick

Locale: Southeast USA

Check out the Borah Bivies. He has both bug bivies as well as regular bivies, and can all be had for well under $100.

http://www.borahgear.com/index.html

Greg Fox
    Spectator

@cabman