Topic

Not another hiking shoe thread? Yup…

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Not another hiking shoe thread? Yup…

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Derek Kind
    BPL Member

@berethorn

Sorry…

But I'm dazed and confused. There are so many options, and without the ability to try out all kinds of shoes on my own it's hard to pick out a pair. Maybe you can help me find some clarity. :)

I'll be in Iceland for over a month, spending some time backpacking, most of the time hiking shorter distances and walking around. I'm a photographer, which could mean going into some awkward spots off trail carrying heavy gear, and then standing around a lot. As far as terrain goes, I have to be concerned mostly about traction on rock and wet rock. Lots and lots of rock.

The other concern is river crossing. Fast moving streams with slippery rocky bottoms. I've already decided I want a quick-drying shoe/boot that I can wear straight through water.

Right now I have a pair of low Merrell Moab Ventilators and New Balance MT101s.

The Merrell's are comfortable and work well for backpacking, but they've never felt grippy on wet rocks, especially compared to the NBs. They might be good for walking around, but I don't trust them for serious trails. If they had a grippier sole I might have been perfectly happy.

The NBs are very grippy and fit well and are obviously light and quick-drying but they're much too minimal for me. My feet are simply not ready for the lack of support. A painful three-day trek earlier this year was enough to tell me they won't work for hiking in Iceland.