Topic

I am a big guy!

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Shane Mihalko

@adudeuknow

Locale: SW PA

I am roughly 6'2, 305lbs…i'm in very good shape despite the extra fat put on since college wrestling ended 5 years ago. to put it as simply as i can:

Is there any way I could ever approach the 20lb mark outside of warm months?

I am as new as one can be to light backpacking. I have done 100 mile hikes with 40lbs on my back and I have to say that while I was able to pull it off, my back was very angry at me every night.

I have no experience in this area. I am very versatile in the woods and can make do with very little but am really looking into learning about fabrics/materials, etc….

Probably not looking into making anything on my own at the moment or in the near future but a kick in the right direction should serve a fella like me quite well.

Thanks in advance.

Shane in PA

drowning in spam

@leaftye

Locale: SoCal

The good thing is that big people generally require thinner insulation, but that's more than made up by the need to wrap a bigger body.

Short answer, yes.

Probably the best way is to minimize layers. A poncho tarp should fit you while hiking and sleeping, and even a slightly bigger custom poncho tarp isn't going to weigh much. That may not be fun in wet weather though, and probably a bad idea when it's snowing. I'd want a tarp dodger in that weather or a different type of shelter. A wearable quilt would take be wider than for most people, but it'd save weight by serving as your down jacket.

You might need a wider pad. That's going to push 20 ounces in the winter.

I bet you could go under 15 pounds in the winter in cooler months.

Kevin Babione
    BPL Member

@kbabione

Locale: Pennsylvania

Shane,