Topic

Frameless pack frame +/- sleeping pad ideas (trying to have cake and eat it too)

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Frameless pack frame +/- sleeping pad ideas (trying to have cake and eat it too)

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Ian Schumann
    BPL Member

@freeradical

Locale: Central TX

Hey team,
    So I've been using frameless packs for several years and am happy with them. I've got a Jam and an MLD Burn (pending sale but I might end up with a Prophet) and am getting ready for another big trip.

Basically I'm trying to get three things to happen at once, but it seems I can only manage a solution that includes two of these at a time. Here we go:
    1) I really like having some kind of externally-attached CCF pad that's available for me to break out at various times throughout the day, to sit on or take short rests / naps. I think this kind of thing greatly improves quality of life on the trail.

2) I need some kind of suitable pack frame. Load for my trip shouldn't be more than 20lbs fully loaded. Rumor seems to be (and my experience seems to have shown) that any kind of inflatable pad will be noticeably inferior as a frame, compared to using CCF. But I don't want to get a new pack (i.e. one with an external pad pocket).

3) I'd like to end up with an overall sleeping pad setup that is simple and light. Simplicity is a higher requirement than overall lightness, at this point. E.g. in the past I've used an XS Prolite (torso) combined with a cut-down CCF (legs) and that's been comfy enough. Problem with that setup is that the two pieces move around a lot (!) and are generally, together, just plain fiddly. I love the idea of a single semi-rigid foam or inflatable pad that can be moved and manipulated as one object, and won't come apart on me in the middle of the night.