Topic

help with first myog backpack

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear help with first myog backpack

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    F. M.

@fmattos

Hello, I've been seeing alot of myog backpacks on this website, and I've decided to give a shot and start making one of my own. I sketched a nice design but still have some uncertainties as to what works best and how to make it lightweight but durable. I have no experience working with all this materials but I've read alot of info online, here is what I got down so far and some questions that I have, any feedback will be appreciated!

1. Backpack body will be X-pack vX07, pockets and some parts will be either 1.1 or 1.9 silnylon and lycra mesh. I'm still looking for a better stretchy mesh for a pocket to let my clothes air out. I'm using 3D mesh on the back, hipbelt and shoulder straps.
    2. The frame will be 1/4" microcell foam with a removable aluminum stays for when I go on longer trips and need to haul more food. Any advice on which aluminum to use for the frame and where to get it?
    3. I'm making the hipbelt with 1" nylon webbing and the V-Buckle from DIY Gear supply, will that work or will it be too weak? I use size 30-32 pants if that means anything. I will also have some padding on a portion of the hipbelt, I may add either a water bottle or a hipbelt pocket there too. I'm using alot of the measurements for Golite Jam 2011 for the hipbelt and other parts of the pack btw.
    4. I'm unsure on what I will use as far as compression for the side of the pack, I'm leaning towards 1/2" nylon webbing but having a hard time finding straight buckles for it, saw some on ebay but dunno how durable and lightweight they are, is the nylon webbing from DIY the best/lightest webbing for backpacks?