Topic

Help with wife’s gear.

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Help with wife’s gear.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 34 total)
  • Author
    Jason McElyea

@rxfragmentation

We have a grand canyon trip planned in October temps will be 40-80 as we are going rim to rim. I really want her to enjoy backpacking so need some help before I start pulling the trigger on gear for her. I know if she doesnt sleep well this will be the last trip she will go on. She is 5'4" 120 lbs so not going to be carrying a lot of weight, and Im not really an expert on light gear. 2k Budget. Any thoughts are appreciated.

This was the core I was thinking of starting with:
    Gregory Jade 50
    Marmot Plasma 30
    Nemo Astro Insulated Sleeping Pad
    Trekking Poles ??
    Boots that fit. Going to REI to try some on tomorrow.

Mark Ries
    Spectator

@mtmnmark

Locale: IOWAHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!

I would scratch getting the boots and everything listed. You have got over three months I would spend one month of that researching gear on BPL. Definatly get her a cushy pad there are quite a few to be had, nemo is not a name in my UL index. If you dont have time to research then ask for advise from women here or husbands and remember one brand does not fit all espesially with packs and shoes, shoes not boots. Keep her base weight low and clothing and equipment that will keep her dry and regulate temps and keep her as comfortable as possible and you got a better chance of her liking the hiking

Jenny Haas

@tollermom

Locale: Western Nevada

I went on my first backpack overnighter in the sierras. I bought the Nemo Astro based on reviews from Baclpacker Magazine. Very comfortable but takes up a lot of space in the pack. If I had it to do over, I'd get something that rolled to the size of a nalgene bottle. I am also 5'3" and 139 lbs.

Jason McElyea