Topic

Tarping-How do you handle bugs?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Tarping-How do you handle bugs?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    James Marco
    BPL Member

@jamesdmarco

Locale: Finger Lakes

I have been using a tarp for several years, but, bugs at night have always been a headache. Especially on warmer summer nights, mosquitoes near wet areas can travel a ways to find you…sometimes as much as a quarter mile.

I have developed a layered defense against most bugs, averaging only one bite per 48 hour period, on average, even in black fly season. Usually while paddling, and during the day when they are most active. Deer flies are often nearly indefensible, but not out when there is no sun or very inactive.

1) Tarp – While primarily to protect me against rain/cold, it works fairly well as a barrier to bugs. However, they have a way of slipping under the edges and in any doorways you have setup.
    2) Permethrin – This will stop most bugs, but is especially helpfull on clothing. While not really a repellant, bugs avoid it, anyway. I believe that instinct tells them it will kill them. Read warnings and decide for yourself.
    3) DEET – On exposed skin, I use a drop or two and spread it around real good. Not Recommended, since it IS a carcinogen, but for many, a few times per year probably won't give you cancer. Read warnings and decide for yourself.
    4) Clothing – long johns or the like will deter most biting bugs. Mosquitoes can bite through this layer if you give them a little time. I do not soak bottoms, socks or underwear in permethrin.
    5) Sleeping Bag – Generally, a light sleeping bag is bug proof.