Topic

New to backpacking, how does all of my gear stack up?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion New to backpacking, how does all of my gear stack up?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 28 total)
  • Author
    Jeremy Rauscher

@fast240z

Hey everyone, my name is Jeremy, I'm 26 years old, and I'm new to the world of backpacking. I've been hiking and camping, but never backpacking. It's always been something that I wanted to do, and decided to take the plunge this year.

I've purchased a bunch of gear and wanted to provide a list to see what you all thought, as well as to get suggestions on other items that I should purchase.

Gear List:
    Deuter Act Lite 65+10 pack
    Suisse Sport +30F bag
    REI Light-Core 1.5 pad
    Nalgene 1L bottle
    Camelbak 1.5L hydration pack
    Ozark Trail Scout Jr. Dome tent with plain blue tarp
    Merrell Moab Mid Gore Tex boots
    Snow Peak Giga Power stove with Piezo, plus two canisters of fuel
    GSI Soloist cookset with Coughlan knife/spoon/fork
    Katadyn Hiker water purifier
    Black Diamond Storm headlamp
    Surefire C2-Centurion flash light
    Smith and Wesson Extreme Ops knife with partial serrated blade
    Light my Fire Swedish Firesteel Army model
    Homemade fire starter bundle (hemp dipped in paraffin wax and Vaseline)
    Homemade first aid kit based on multiple sites for DIY kits
    Marmot PreCip jacket
    REI pants with zip off legs
    Alpinestars hoodie for warmth
    Older Garmin hiking gps

I eventually want to purchase the following items:
    Platypus 3L hydration bladder (to be dedicated to the Deuter pack)
    Black Diamond trekking poles (not sure which model yet)
    A better tent
    Decent compass