Topic

Advice: Hitting the John Muir Trail in a week

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Advice: Hitting the John Muir Trail in a week

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Dan Carter
    Spectator

@dancarter

Locale: Toyota Van

I've been up in Yosemite climbing for the last three weeks and have decided to take a break and go hike the John Muir Trail starting around June 14. Since I'm in the Valley I think I can get a walk in permit pretty easily. I'm going to mail a re-supply to VVR, about half way. I think I can do the hike in 10 days so that'll have only 5 days of food in the pack at a time and 20+ miles a day. I've put in long days like this in the Gila Wilderness and I've been running and climbing for the past three months so I think I'm still in shape for it.
    Is anyone else planning to be out there around then or wants to join me? What can the weather be like during mid to late June? I know the mountains can change quick but in general. This has been a light snow year so I think the trail should be good at this time. Are the bugs a big issue at this time?
    Here is my current setup:
    Sleeping/shelter: Go Lite poncho tarp, ground cloth, thermarest ridge rest cut in half and sierra designs nitro 30 bag for sleeping setup. Probably throw in a head bug net in case of bugs too. Think that will be enough.?
    Clothes: shorts, smart wool long sleeve, 2-3 pairs of socks, cap2 bottoms, mountain hardwear pants (might leave these out), patagonia pullover mid layer, sierra designs microlite jacket, mountain hardwear pullover hooded shirt (might leave out), OR hat with sun shade, micro fleece beanie, running gloves, extra t shirt or long sleeve and La Sportiva Raptor shoes