Topic

Appalachian Trail 3 Season Gear List

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Appalachian Trail 3 Season Gear List

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    Maggie Harlan
    BPL Member

@maggiemaeflower

Locale: Ohio

Hello everyone! I'm new to Backpacking Light and I would like your opinions on my gear list. I'm looking for tips on going lighter, multi use items, and things I may be missing.

Gear List

A few disclaimers:
    – The stove is heavy compared to an alcohol stove but I don't have to carry any fuel.
    – The stakes are small and light but they hold down the tarp even in heavy wind.
    – I am looking into a Zpacks food bag. Any testimonies?
    – I use Dr. Bronner's as toothpaste. It doesn't bother me.
    – I'm prone to blisters and moleskins don't help. Wearing camp shoes allows my feet to air out.
    – The hip pack is great, especially in town!

Steven Paris
    BPL Member

@saparisor

Locale: Pacific Northwest

Welcome to BPL!

This is a really good gear list. There's just not too much to change.

You could go with a Sawyer Squeeze filter instead of the Platypus Gravityworks and save several ounces — but — if you already have the GW, then switching isn't going to make or break your thru-hike and is just more money to spend.

Maybe throw in a 1 oz bug headnet. Previous AT-hikers can maybe chime in whether that's really needed or not.

Otherwise, great job!

CW
    BPL Member

@simplespirit

Locale: .

Is this for a thru or just general use?

The easiest swap I see for real savings without sacrifice would be to use repackaged AquaMira for water treatment. That would save about 8 oz. Gravity filters are great for groups or when you plan to spend a lot of time in camp, but not so good for the soloist on the move.