Topic

First UL gear list. Sierra’s June-September

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists First UL gear list. Sierra’s June-September

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Piney
    BPL Member

@drewjh-2

http://www.backpackinglight.com/backpackinglight/forums/gear_lists/af985311db2564c1271fd01a9ec786b5.pdf

(Revised 6/14)

So, this is my first attempt at ultralight, I've been working on this gear for a couple months. I last bought gear in 1995, bought the lightest I could afford back then and ended up with a base weight somewhere between 25 and 30lbs. I've never really backpacked in the way that most on this forum do – for me it is about fishing so I've always just packed in a few miles with a buddy or three, fished for a day or two and packed back out.

Fishing will still be the focus, but I will be adding some proper backpacking trips this year. There is a 40 mile loop planned next month which will be my first real attempt.

I'm not small, well over 6 feet and 250 lbs. Sleeping gear is especially important to me, as I've never slept well in the backcountry, hopefully this new gear will solve that. What I am going for is maximum comfort and enjoyment both on the trail and in camp.

The list I linked should be what I'm using for a trip this week. Mostly fishing, not much hiking, but it should be a good opportunity to get acquainted with everything. Please feel free to offer comments/suggestions! I have literally no interest in solo hikes so the weight on a few things is split. Also I'll likely ditch the alcohol stove and use the canister setup for this first trip.

Piney
    BPL Member

@drewjh-2

Any feedback/suggestions?

James Marco
    BPL Member

@jamesdmarco

Locale: Finger Lakes

A lot of stuff I can recommend would cost dollars. You would need to revamp a sizable portion of your kit.