Topic

DIY Bug Bivy coverage

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear DIY Bug Bivy coverage

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Daniel Tekiela

@t3knical5urg3

Locale: Northeast

I've been cutting my weight and finally decided to go to a tarp setup. I setup a tarp and hammock which works great, but I wanted a lighter weight and more versatile setup. Thus the creation of my bug bivy! It is my first attempt at a piece of gear and I'm pretty happy with it but I am worried about the coverage of the bivy under the tarp. The bivy is 7ft long, as I am a tall guy.

Shangri La Taro and Bivy

It is pitched high for how I would use it in a storm so you can see it so envisioning it pitched low, would this be enough coverage?

One more shot of the bivyDIY Bug Bivy

Sean Rhoades

@kingpin

Locale: WV

Thats a good looking bivy. Especially for your first MYOG project. It looks like you would be protected in a storm, as long as the wind isn't blowing up under the tarp. I had a setup similar to that and I tried to keep it setup in a patch of trees to keep the wind from blowing so bad.

Daniel Tekiela

@t3knical5urg3

Thanks for the input. I made quite a few mistakes sewing the bivy but I chalk them up to learning experiences. I'm hoping to get a decent storm to test it out but there aren't any in the forecast.

I want to recommended to anybody to use a piece of shockcord to attach the bivy. I saw it on brain greens blog and really love how flexible it makes the bivy!

Tim Zen
    Spectator

@asdzxc57

Locale: MI

Dan — how was sewing the zipper to the no-see-um? Any tips?

Daniel Tekiela

@t3knical5urg3