Topic

Waterproof Trail Runners? Why/Why not?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Waterproof Trail Runners? Why/Why not?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    matthew rangel
    BPL Member

@mrangel

Been thinking about switching to Trail-Runners for backcountry excursions. I like that my current boots are waterproof when it rains or in the snow. When I look at Trail-Runners I say:

Even if they are waterproof, will they actually keep splashing water and snow out? Probably not if you're post-holing in snow or walking in a down-poor with water dripping down your pants and such… So, assuming they'll get wet, will they dry out fast enough if they have Goretex or Event membranes or have lots of leather instead of mesh materials? See, I just don't know. I have no experience on the matter..

The other thing I consider is:
    Should I be looking for Trail-Runners that are not waterproof so that if they get soaked, they'll dry out fast? Shoes with lots of mesh perhaps.

I'd like to hear comments from those of you here that wear Trail Runners instead of boots to hike lighter. What experiences have you had on these matters? Do waterproof Trail Runners actually keep your feet dry in varied conditions?

Mike Adams

@mikeadams

Here is my take:

The only time I wear boots or "waterproof" shoes is in the snow. I do feel that they help when the temps. are cooler and snow is on the ground.