Topic

Israel: Negev Desert

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Photo Gallery Israel: Negev Desert

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Gregory Stein
    BPL Member

@tauneutrino

Locale: Upper Galilee

Greetings my fellow backpackers!

I'm relatively new to this great online community. Here are some photos from Negev Desert on south of Israel. In summer it's really hot there so you MUST carry a lot of water with you. That's why ultralight backpacking is so important in deserts. You have to cut weight in all other things except water. BPL website provides great tips for reaching that necessary level of base weight.

In this topic I wanted to show you places where I hike. Hope it will be interesting for you.

These are my kids climbed one of hills.

Sometimes such canyons are the only place where you can cool down a little.

Ardon Mount

David waterfall at Ein Gedi (near Dead Sea). There is water even in summer

Family hike

Nekarot

Climbing hills in desert and under sunlight is very difficult especially for children.

Done part so far…

Saharonim Mount

Forest :)

Ein Avdat

Such places are the only water source. They also provide food for animals, so you can find them here sometimes

Sunrise as seen from Massada near Dead Sea

Bugs of desert (Adesmia abbreviata)

This lizard has each finger doubled for better grip on surfaces. It actually can run on cave ceilings. Ptyodactylus hasselquistii

Eilat Mountains

"Yin Yang"

Eilat Mountains

It's me with my poor tired daughter

Red sea on left. Near Israel-Egypt border

Jerry Adams
    BPL Member

@retiredjerry

Locale: Oregon and Washington

Nice, thanks

That looks a lot like Southwest U.S.

Interesting how much alike the rest of the world is

David Drake
    BPL Member

@daviddrake

Locale: North Idaho

Wow. Amazing places, Gregory.

Adan Lopez
    Spectator

@lopez