Topic

First MYOG Pack

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear First MYOG Pack

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    mike Krsnak

@makrsnak

I am a newbie here and I am attempting to make my first backpack. I literally stumbled upon this website after I started drawing up the backpack. I have already made a prototype of the frame 1/4" x 7.5" x 18" HDPE and epoxied 1/8" x 3/4" x 18" aluminum stays and 1/8" closed cell foam. I measured myself according to different custom pack websites, and the frame maybe an inch short. Now I am going to start with the prototype fabric (probably cheap nylon from walmart) for pattern work.

I have already ordered my fabric materials: VX-21, 500D coated Corurda nylon ripstop, 1.3 oz silnylon, 4 mm neoprene ~1/8" , and 1/8" closed cell foam. I still need to find a good mesh fabric for the anterior side of the pack. I am trying to make a sturdy, yet lightweight pack. The sample of 0.74 oz cuben I received did not feel strong enough.

I have also ordered 3/4" polyester webbing for lid closure, hip-belt adjustment, and compression straps. The high use straps such as the hip-belt and lid closure straps will use aluminum buckles, and all others will be plastic ( I have had several buckles break in the past on my commercial packs vaude, osprey, and black diamond). The aluminum has been anodized, and will also be lacquered. The hip-belt will use two buckles, one at the top of the hip-belt and one at the bottom of the hip-belt.

According to my calculations my with an approximate volume of 5200ci I will use at a very minimum without reinforcements the following dimensions for different compartments for my pack:
    Main Chamber 4000ci
    r= 7.5in (center of pack to lateral side) d=15in
    h= 23in
    l= 47.1in