Topic

Golite Jam shoulder strap replacement

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Golite Jam shoulder strap replacement

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Aaron
    BPL Member

@aaronufl

Hi all,

I'm new to MYOG, so please bear with me.

I have both a Golite Peak and a newer Golite Jam. I'm looking to replace the Jam's shoulder straps with the ones from the peak (much more comfortable IMO). I have very rudimentary sewing knowledge, so what would be the best way to go about doing this?

Thanks!

K C
    BPL Member

@kalebc

Locale: South West

Can you post a pict of how they are attached? I would deconstruct that part and reconstruct it the way you want.

David Chenault
    BPL Member

@davec

Locale: Queen City, MT

Keeping strap length the same with be crucial to fit, so keep that in mind.

The cleanest and most labor intensive option will be to take apart the arcing shoulder seam on both packs, add the new straps, and sew it back together. Removing the bar tacks with a seam ripper is a nuisance, and you'll want to position the new straps just right, but the hardest part might be that the old stitching on the Jam will leave the fabric pretty perforated, and new stitching could weaken it. I've not taken that seam apart myself, so I'm not sure how much of a seam allowance is inside the binding. This could in short prove to be a delicate task.