Topic

GG Gorilla vs.MLD Exodus FS

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) GG Gorilla vs.MLD Exodus FS

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Randy Alexander
    BPL Member

@randy7fx

I have been backpacking for approximately 6 months, and have recently started wrapping my arms around lighter gear, and the benefits that brings. I own a Gregory Baltoro 75 that I love and is extremely comfortable, but I realize I don't need to carry 40+ lbs on my back whenever I go. As such, I am looking at both the Gossamer Gear Gorilla (2012 model) and the Mountain Laurel Design Exodus Full Suspension. I did search the forum, but I believe both of these packs are relatively new, and I wasn't able to find anything in terms of comparison's of the two. Does anyone have any perspective on this?

Also, when I purchased my Boltoro at REI, they pounded it into my head that I had to try on, walk around the store for 20 minutes with 30 lbs in it before I bought it. "That's the only way to determine comfort" is what they said. While I see value in that, I imagine carrying 40+ lbs has a significantly greater variation of comfort than carrying 15 lbs. Question is: How do I talk myself into spending $200+ without ever seeing (or trying on) the backpack? Is there something inherently different that minimizes the need to try one of these on? Or, do I just need to come to terms that ultra light means less comfort? Help!!!

Thanks in advance.

Luke Schmidt
    BPL Member

@cameron

Locale: Alaska

An ultralight pack should be just as comfortable as a heavy duty pack assuming its not overloaded. The reason your Gregory pack is so heavy is that its built to carry 50 pounds. If you're only hauling 25 pounds you can eliminate a long of that stuff and still have a comfortable pack.