Topic

Mesh hip belt pouch

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Mesh hip belt pouch

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Chris Irwin

@chris-89

I've just bought a Granite Gear Vapor Trail to replace my ill-fitting and heavier Osprey Atmos. I have yet to take delivery of it, but I'm already planning some modifications.

One of the things I really liked about the atmos was the lightweight mesh hip belt pockets, so I'm thinking of making something similar for the vapor trail. However, I only really used them to store trail snacks in, so I don't really need a zip. I was thinking of creating a mesh pouch with an elasticated top to close the pouch into the hip belt and keep everything secure.

I have no prior sewing knowledge, other than the occasional button, or hole in my T-shirt. But I do have a friend with a sewing machine.

Has anyone done anything similar? Or does anyone have any advice as to what materials I could use, and how I could attach it?

Thanks

Aaron Bergman

@aaronb50

I'm getting a new UL pack soon (haven't yet decided which) but none of the ones Im looking at come with a hip belt pocket standard. I have not tried it yet, but I am planning on sewing on a granite gear compression sack pouch (the stuff sack for the stuff sack) it seems large enough to hold plenty of snacks, etc. and will be easy to attach.Mesh pouchGranite gear stuff sack case

Sean Rhoades

@kingpin

Locale: WV

You should take a look at Zimmerbuilt.com in the accessory page. He makes some really nice add on pockets for your hip belt and shoulder strap. I have one for my belt and I absolutely love it. It's much easier to open and close than the built in pockets on most packs. There are other places that make these too, but I only have experience with the Zimmerbuilt ones.

Nathan Moody
    BPL Member

@atomick