Topic

Summer List for a 1st Time SUL’er

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Summer List for a 1st Time SUL’er

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Charles Schaefer

@armchairracer

Locale: Utah

Hi, I've been lurking here for a while, first time posting. So a little intro first. I'm a currently going to school at Weber State University in Utah, I grew up camping with family and friends, got my Life Scout before school got too busy to allow time for scouts (I graduated high school with an associate's degree from Utah Valley University). Most of my camping experience has been car camping and I've only just started getting into back packing with friends the last year or so.

When I have gone I've tried to stay pretty light weight, just because I don't want to carry 50 pounds 5 miles uphill. Usually I find myself in the low to mid 20's on my base weight. Well someone pointed me toward this sight saying that if I didn't want to carry a lot I'd find good info here, and have I ever, almost more than I can take in.

So with this in mind I started looking at gear, my goal was under 15 lbs. But as I started reading I decided I could probably go even lighter for the same money, and I've come to the point of assembling a list that looks pretty complete to me for a summer SUL list. Here it is:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AgbvB50IGNN0dDNzMjJ0dTlTV1lVNHRQeEhFdnJFaGc

For my stove set up I plan on copying this fairly closely: http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/forums/thread_display.html?forum_thread_id=61204

If you see any holes in the list or any ways that I can lighten up for little to no money is appreciated.

Also, I know the headlamp is heavy, I'm going to spend some time looking for a flash light that I like.

Greg F
    BPL Member

@gregf

Locale: Canadian Rockies