Topic

Short Beautiful Northern CA Trails?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Short Beautiful Northern CA Trails?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Megan P
    BPL Member

@meganpetruccelli

Locale: San Francisco

Howdy.

I'm new to the bay area, transplant from Colorado and I want to get back outside. I have done a few trips so far in Inyo & Kings Canyon. I did the Sabrina Basin loop outside of Bishop and it was stunningly beautiful. I would love to do something else like that one, Lakes, views, 1-3 day hike. I'm open to anywhere close to SF. What's up around Tahoe? I think Ideally the trip would involve water of some kind, lakes or river.

Thanks for all the tips.

Megan

Charles P
    Spectator

@mediauras

Locale: Terra

this site has some many good suggestions. there's a lot within 3-4 hours of the bay area.

http://www.backpackthesierra.com/

Paul Wagner
    BPL Member

@balzaccom

Locale: Wine Country

Thanks charles!

Yes, we've got a lot of trips on there, and many of them are under 20 miles.

Now it's just a question of seeing how long this snow lasts…hmmm.

Charles P
    Spectator

@mediauras

ha, you're welcome! love your sight, been looking thru it trying to find a good short introductory trip for my 6 year old son this summer (likely in emigrant). been meaning to email you actually, so you'll probably hear from me soon. but yes, this snow… though i've been enjoying some spring skiing its going to put a wrinkle in early summer backpacking.

USA Duane Hall
    BPL Member

@hikerduane

Locale: Extreme northern Sierra Nevada