Topic

Base Layer

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Base Layer

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Wayne Kraft

@waynekraft

Help me shop. I've got a Nunatak Arc Alpinist on order. Now I'm trying to decide what base layer (layers?) I'm going to need. Right now I'm looking mainly at something for summer and shoulder season to wear at night under the quilt. In the past I've generally used running tights and some sort of synthetic long sleeve shirt so I have no real experience with modern versions of natural fibers like silk and merino wool.

If I go with a silk base layer, will it be of any use to me in colder weather or will I need to invest in Smartwool or something similar to use when I wake up to a 20 degree morning?

If I go with a really light wool base, will it be too warm to use in the summer? (I'd like to wear a base layer whenever possible just to protect my new quilt if nothing else?

If I go with a wool base layer, can anyone see an advantage for Smartwool over some of the less expensive merino wool base layers available by mail order direct from AUS and NZ suppliers? (eg http://www.faxmail.co.nz/mavlin/)

Thanks

Eric Noble
    BPL Member

@ericnoble

Locale: Colorado Rockies

Wayne, I wear wool all year long and have done so for years now. Wool is not just for cold weather. In my opinion, my Ibex wool polo shirts perform better than cotton in the heat. My 3 season base layer is a Smartwool Shadow Hoody. My choice in the winter is the Ibex Hooded Shak. See my reviews on both and also check out this BPL article. As for discounted merino wool, this thread may help. I'm happy with Ibex and most of my wool comes from them.

Valentin Zill

@valentin-zill

Locale: Europe