Topic

Cameras at Philmont

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Scouting Philmont Cameras at Philmont

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Celeste Walz

@travelingchick

I'm a former Philmont Ranger (really former – '84, '86). The ultralight thing has come on very strong since then! I'm also a very avid photographer.
    For those of you who have been recently and traveled with a digital camera, did you have any trouble with battery life or running out of card space? My very heavy and expensive DSLR I know could manage the two weeks in inclement weather and getting banged around, but I'm thinking of downsizing to a smaller camera for this trip and don't have much experience with performance in the field.

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

Most digital cameras, whether they are heavy or lightweight, expend a great deal of their battery power in the rear display. Some cameras are particularly bad in this respect since they have no optical viewfinder. Small cameras have another disadvantage in that the battery size is small, so they don't store as much power.

So, for now I stick with the expensive DSLR, and I don't spend much time viewing the rear display after the shot.

–B.G.–

ed dzierzak
    BPL Member

@dzierzak

Locale: SE

My major criterion for cameras at Philmont (or anyplace with no charging facilities) is AA batteries, not a proprietary battery. Easy enough to have enough power. Yes, no optical finder and a power-hungry display are disadvantages, but not doing much review on the trail limits the power drain. It's not difficult to have plenty of chip space for a lot of pictures. My current camera – Nikon CoolPix? has an 8gb chip – enough space for over 1000 pictures at 12 mp.

M B
    BPL Member

@livingontheroad