Topic

Dirty Devil Packrafting

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Member Trip Reports Dirty Devil Packrafting

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Justin Baccary

@justin-baccary

In the spirit of "talk about gear less and talk about trips more," I just returned from a five day, 75 mile solo packrafting trip down the Dirty Devil River in southeast Utah.

Warm and sunny, flow ~125-250 cfs. I parked near Hite then hitched to a gas station in Hanksville and paid somone $20 to drive me down the "Landfill Road" to the river. I drained my camera battery quickly shooting lots of video so all clips (except for the bridge shot) are from above Poison Springs Wash Road (mile 50).

I learned a lot about basic video editing (I've never done any before) and how to set up shots in the field (more challenging when you're solo and you have to film yourself paddling). Feedback (positive and especially negative) is much appreciated. My future videos will be much better.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=baj5aPTWp8Q

Keep your eye on the gauge and give it a go at anything over 100 cfs (http://waterdata.usgs.gov/usa/nwis/uv?site_no=09333500). It's a great mellow float on remote water. I saw one group of three in IKs (they had to drag more than I did, but they had cold beer while I was stuck drinking margaritas the whole time) and one day hiker at the mouth of Happy Canyon.

Highly recommended!

Brendan Swihart
    BPL Member

@brendans

Locale: Fruita CO

Awesome! One of my favorite areas. Did you do any side exploring other than Happy Canyon? I love the diversity of the canyons in that stretch.

Dave T

@davet

Loving that trip. Perfect packraft concept… small enough stuff to be able to hitch with, do a long paddle, and extricate. Thanks!

Justin Baccary

@justin-baccary