Topic

1.37 ounce huarache

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear 1.37 ounce huarache

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    James Reilly
    Spectator

@zippymorocco

Locale: Montana

This is my first attempt at a light weight and durable huarache to use on my 2013 AT through hike(as a camp shoe). They are inspired by invisible shoes and tied in the ultra-minimalist style on there web site. invisibleshoe.com

I made these out of some draw chord and vinyl floor runner that I found at the hardware store. I might switch the design to inner tubes and draw chord if durability proves to be an issue. We'll see, I like the feel of them.

weight

cut out

nice

Dan Johnson

@seattle

Locale: PNW

I think these would be great camp shoes. I am almost about to pull the trigger on a pair of Invisible Shoes but the 6mm in my size is backordered. I think for just walking you wouldn't have a problem but you may find that the toe may droop and get caught on things since it doesn't lift up.

Great weight though. Please keep us posted on how well they work out around the house and on the trail. I've seen similar people use shoe inserts since they have the same shape and contours of a shoe. I don't think they would last very long though since they are all made out of cheap, light foam.

Travis Leanna
    BPL Member

@t-l

Locale: Wisconsin

I've done a similar thing, but using an insert from an old pair of trail runners. Pre-formed!

James Reilly
    Spectator

@zippymorocco

Locale: Montana