Topic

Looking for instant food ideas.

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Food, Hydration, and Nutrition Looking for instant food ideas.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    chris smead
    BPL Member

@hamsterfish

Locale: San Jose, CA

I admit it. I'm a lazy backcountry chef. I like having a compact bag full of dry ingredients, adding hot water, waiting 5 minutes for it to cook, and then being able to throw the whole thing away afterwards with no dishes to do.

Mountain House gets old, so I'm looking into making more of my own instant meals.

What's everyone's favorite "instant" meal recipe?

John S.
    BPL Member

@jshann

Ramen and a meat packet (tuna or salmon) is one of my fav.

Chris Wheeler
    BPL Member

@chrisw

Locale: Stratford, Ontario

My favorite instant comfort food of instant mashed potatoes and humus.

2/3 cup Instant Idahoan Mashed Potatoes
    1/3 cup Instant Humus (ground chick peas)
    1/4 cup Instant Nestle Whole Milk Powder
    1 tablespoon of Soya Protein Powder

Add this to boiling water then add.

1 tablespoon of Olive oil
    1 ounce Grated Parmesan cheese

A popular recipe for thru hikers, that you can make with hot or cold water.
    Use just enough water to give the consistency of regular home made mashed potatoes.
    A variation is to use Instant Pinto Bean Fakes.

Anonymous
    Inactive

"What's everyone's favorite "instant" meal recipe?"

For simplicity and speed, you can't beat dehydrated soups like split pea, black bean, corn chowder, etc. If you live near a Whole Foods, or local open bin coop you can usually find a selection. Whole Foods is the only place I have found corn chowder, which is my personal favorite. Heat water, pour over soup and stir, add goodies like cheese, dried garlic, olive oil, jerky, etc, cover, wait 5 minutes, and eat. Easy clean up, too.