Topic

Tungsten carbide rotary blade

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Tungsten carbide rotary blade

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Huzefa @ Blue Bolt Gear
    Spectator

@huzefa

Locale: Himalayas

Does anyone have experience with tungsten carbide blade? Eg. Olfa heavy duty. I am curious if this can be used on glass without dulling quickly. Tungsten carbide is supposed to be harder then glass. The main issue is that I need 5'x 8' cutting table and I am unable to source a cutting mat of this size locally in India. I have 2 option: use a glass table and a blade harder then glass or buy few green cutting boards and join them together.

Kevin Robin

@happakidd

Locale: Northern California

I have some experience with a 45mm OLFA rotary cutter. They work great, and are ridiculously sharp. Not sure if it would hold up on glass, but they have replacement blades available if it doesn't work out for you. For patterns, I trace them on the fabric before cutting and use a small 18" x 24" cutting mat. I just cut it in smaller sections; I slide the board around under the stationary fabric while I make my cut. Seems to work pretty well, a larger board would be nice, but not required IMHO.

Dustin Short
    BPL Member

@upalachango

The olfa looks pretty much just like an oversized glass cutter. Glass cutters are generally made of tungsten carbide, only with tiny wheels.

Using the olfa on the glass will dull the cutter much faster than a silicone/plastic mat. You also have the issue where everytime you run the cutter you will be scoring the glass surface which will make it incredibly sensitive to breaking (this is the exact method used to cut glass). This will be true of any blade harder than glass. I would just stitch together the green boards.

Colin Krusor
    BPL Member

@ckrusor