Topic

Eureka Backcountry 1 – Making a Vestibule

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Eureka Backcountry 1 – Making a Vestibule

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    L. R.

@tankdula

DISCLAIMER:
    I'm a *total novice* for backpacking solo. I've always accompanied experienced folks who did lovely things like…. cook and set up the tent. I provided effervescence, comic relief and a fair distribution of pack weight.

I'm striking out solo.

I'll be backpacking 12-18 months through Africa, Asia. Sometimes I'll be in hostels/homes, sometimes my tent. Primarily, I'll hit dry seasons on both continents.
    Sensitive to pack weight but chose Eureka @ 1.76kg (3lb 14oz) for price, freestanding feature, simplicity and alleged durability. Shelter will be my single heaviest item; heavier than my pack.

I have a few questions about making a vestibule (without tent poles) for the Eureka Backcountry 1.
    Planned to follow this youtube vid on making a vestibule for the Eureka. It's for my gear; seems a bit cramped for cooking. The gent in the vid says he spent ~$15. I'd spend up to $50.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OsAGkh9uznw

Figured I'd come here and get a second opinion on materials.

What lightweight material would you all suggest for this tent and style of vestibule?
    What material would you suggest for the ground cloth?
    Should I just use nylon for the rope ties?
    On another note, I always read that the stakes provided by the manufacturer are garbage. What type of decent stakes should I pick up instead?

Any advice is welcome.

Thanks in advance.

VestibuleVestibule2Vestibule 3Vestibule 4EurekaEureka 1

Pete Forest

@againpeter

Locale: France Europe

Hello,

Wish I had a Eureka backcountry, they are not available here in France though, and shipping is way too much.