Topic

Refilling my Montbell Super Stretch Down Bag

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Refilling my Montbell Super Stretch Down Bag

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Victor Lin
    BPL Member

@babybunny

I've got an old Montbell Super Stretch #2 Down Bag using 800-fill power down rated at 25 degrees. I've been sleeping in it for 7 years, like 365 days a year. I've washed it a few times as well. The down is pretty shot, but the shell still works very well.

Help?

I'm in the US.

EndoftheTrail
    BPL Member

@ben2world-2

I'm actually rather surprised that the shell still works well. What do you mean by "the down is pretty shot"? All clumped up? Something else?

David Vo

@sygyzy

I am fascinated by this. If you don't mind, may I ask what are the circumstances that would have you sleeping in a sleeping bag every day?

Have you tried washing it using a special down cleaner like McNett?

http://www.mcnett-outdoor.com/Repair-Guide/Sleeping-Bags/221.aspx

Stephan Doyle

@stephancal

How many times is "a few?"

Chances are a good cleaning job will bring it back to life. Send it off to Feathered Friends for a top-flight job.

James Marco
    BPL Member

@jamesdmarco

Locale: Finger Lakes

The down could be damaged. In this case returning it for a refill, or doing it yourself, might be needed. A couple ounces of fresh 800Fill down will do it. Devide the down into equal portions for each baffle you have. Put in a handfull, use a "destitcher" or stitch puller at the zipper, and put in that amount and stitch it closed carefully…down proof stitched. Too many stitches will weaken the fabric shell. Too few will not be down proof. Basically, a messy job and you WILL be picking up down feathers for a month of Sundays.