Topic

The Winds, solo?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Ben F

@tekhna

Is it totally irresponsible to do a 3-4 day loop in the Winds solo? I've got plenty of experience in the woods, but not so much at elevation. It also doesn't help that I live at sea level and wouldn't at all be acclimated to the altitude. I'm game to try it, but I was wondering what you guys thought. Also, if you had any loop suggestions for those that have been, that'd be awesome.

Greg Mihalik
    Spectator

@greg23

Locale: Colorado

What month?
    Are you willing to pay for a shuttle?
    How far can you comfortably hike in a day?

Ben F

@tekhna

Mid June. I could pay for a shuttle, but I was thinking of just doing a loop starting from the Elkhart trailhead. I'm pretty young and fit, I'm comfortable doing ~14 miles a day, but at my normal altitude and trail pattern. I could probably do more if I needed to, but I don't know how the elevation would factor in there. I'd imagine my comfortable rate would drop pretty significantly, between the thinner air and ascending/descending. So that might drop it to 8-10 miles a day?

Steve S

@idahosteve

Locale: Idaho

Its not irresponsible or crazy. The Winds are just like any other destination/goal that you may have. Do the prep, plan the route, go for it. If its something you want to do, then go do it.

Greg F
    BPL Member

@gregf

Locale: Canadian Rockies

What would make it irresponsible?

Hiking solo does carry a higher risk than hiking in a group but that can be mitigated to the extent you like. Backup gear, more food, more insulation, a spot or plb.

Ben F

@tekhna

My concern is mostly elevation, having basically no experience. The Winds don't seem like a great place to make a mistake.

Art Sandt

@artsandt