Topic

Fast tracking an injury recovery for a hike

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Philosophy & Technique Fast tracking an injury recovery for a hike

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    David Wills

@willspower3

I haven't went to the doctor, but I am pretty sure I have tendonitis in my right achilles tendon. I got it when a buddy spraigned his ankle on new years eve and I got to trade my 20lb pack for his 60lb pack when I had tennis shoes on. Web MD says it could take a few months to heal, but I need to be able to train for this summers hike. Is there any way to fast track the recovery or possibly a way to train my cardio without using my feet? thanks

Kirk Beiser

@kab21

Locale: Pic: Gun Lake, BWCA

I think your best bet is to get to a doctor and then start physical therapy. I'm no expert, but I think a light workout (enough to break a sweat on a exercise bike or treadmill) combined with good stretching would be a big benefit. But I think that if you want the quickest recovery, going to a physical therapist would be recommended.

Swimming is one of the best workouts for cardio and it shouldn't stress your achilles at all.

Kirk

Neil Bender

@nebender

I injured my achilles tendon 3 years ago on a mountain bike tour. When I flexed my foot it felt like what one site described as 'rubbing wet leather'. Anyway, it took 3 months to heel and that was with heel wedges in shoes to keep the heel counter of my shoes from aggravating it during the day, and at night I slept with a night splint to keep the foot at right angles and keep the tendon stretched so that weighting the foot in the morning doesn't re-injure what healing occurs overnight. That area gets very little circulation and is notorious for taking a long time to heal.

Zack Karas
    BPL Member

@iwillchopyouhotmail-com

Locale: Lake Tahoe