Topic

Poor Man’s Cuben: Polycro Tarp

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Poor Man’s Cuben: Polycro Tarp

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Dan Johnson

@seattle

Locale: PNW

So it's been in the works now for quite a long time now but I rarely have free time anymore now that I have a daughter (9 months old). Today I finally was able to do a quick pitch in my house using various pieces of furniture as stakes as she was taking her normal morning nap. This is my first attempt on making my own tarp and I learned quite a bit after I pitched it. Thanks to everyone here that helped me along in the process. I used a patio sized window shrink wrap kit which measures roughly 7×9. I also put the double sided tape that was included in the kit along the perimeter and folded over the plastic to create a stronger edge. I found this really helped in strength and I'm not too worried about the edge getting a tear in it anymore. I don't have a scale to weigh it but compared to my cheap blue 8×10 poly tarp this feels like nothing. All folded up it fits nicely in a gallon sized ziplock bag.

Without further ado:

Tarp

Tie outs

perimeter fold

Things I would differently next time. Instead of 4 tieouts on the long side I would just put 3. I would use less tape. And I would sandwich a plastic washer between the tape on the tieouts.

Now all I have to do is get a long enough rope for the ridge line and I'm set to try it out on the trail.

Daryl and Daryl
    BPL Member

@lyrad1

Locale: Pacific Northwest, USA, Earth

Thanks for the photos and info.

I like the imbedded plastic washer idea.

What type of tape did you use for the corner reinforcements?

Dan Johnson

@seattle