Topic

A QUESTION ABOUT SEAMS?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear A QUESTION ABOUT SEAMS?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    gareth candlin

@gcandlin

I am currently trying to make my own bouldering mat from 1000d cordura. I am quite new to sewing and am teaching myself as I go (lots of trial and error!!).

I am just wondering that after I have sewn a seam should I trim of the excess material or do I leave it there or do I iron it down flat?

Also I am looking to double sew my seams, should I just sew directly over the first line of stitching or so you stitch a separate line close to the first?

Any advice appreciated.

Thanks

gareth

Sam Jones

@sam-pangolin

Locale: London, UK

Hi Gareth

Are you sewing it inside out? If there is a lot of excess then trim it a little, but particularly trim the corner quite close to the stitching. That makes for a neater, pointier corner once you turn it the right way out. Make sense?

I'm not sure about double stitching, I'll let someone else answer. I would think a second row would do nothing as all the force is on the first row?

Jerry Adams
    BPL Member

@retiredjerry

Locale: Oregon and Washington

Look at http://thru-hiker.com/projects/basic_seams.php

Good description of basic seams

also if you go up a level and then go to French Seams, that's another useful one

Chris M
    BPL Member

@kringle

Locale: California

Oddly enough, I was just thinking about this same project this morning, because my brother recently got me back into climbing and bouldering.

I think for your purposes a french seam, or something of the sorts, would be most useful. It should give your seams a good deal extra strength.

What are you going to use for the actual padding?

David Olsen
    Spectator

@oware

Locale: Steptoe Butte