Topic

Stretching a 3 season quilt into winter camping

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Stretching a 3 season quilt into winter camping

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Mark
    BPL Member

@drshane-2-2-2-2-2-2-2-2-2-2-2-2-2-2-2-2-2-2-2-2-2

Locale: Northwest Wyoming

I have a 20 degree 3 season quilt. I want to stretch it into winter use by wearing insulating layers rather than buying a warmer quilt.

I am trying to get an idea of how much I need to wear on top and on bottom. I realize there are many variables here but let me give you what I know about my situation.
    I use an R5 air mat (Kookabay apex) and I have a pair of BPL puffy pants and a Feathered Friends Daybreak jacket with 3 oz of down that I used on a September trip where the temps bottomed out at 20 degrees. I needed every bit of that extra insulation to stay warm at 20 degrees along with wearing a warm hat. I pay attention to having a good dinner and staying hydrated.

Specifically, I am interested in your experience using warm layers for winter camping. What works for you.
    I am in the market for some down pants and perhaps some down booties to keep warm in camp and for sleeping.
    I am also interested in what works in terms of a warm jacket/hood.

I know that it will come down to what works for me. I want to shorten that learning curve by picking your brain.

Mike M
    BPL Member

@mtwarden

Locale: Montana

if you needed all of the above insulating clothing to get you comfortable at the quilt's rating (20 degrees), then you can probably push it a little more w/ down pants and a medium-ish down parka, but not a heck of lot more imo

down booties will help (as well as being very nice in camp), a balaclava combined w/ a good down hood (from your parka) should help as well