Topic

Winter Middle layer for Backpacking/skiing

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Winter Middle layer for Backpacking/skiing

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 28 total)
  • Author
    greg jenkins

@ocpik4chu

Locale: CO, Rockies

So Ive been slowly replacing gear this season since Ive either grown out of or worn out what I was using before and I am wanting to get some good quality equipment that will last me a while and be versatile/multiple use if at all possible. But frankly Im fairly new to the lightweight backpacking so Im looking for a little advice.

The goal here is a middle layer that I can wear backpacking and skiing in the winter with one special case that I will get to shortly. Im sure this may limit my options as one is pretty physically demanding (heat generating) while the other is much less but Im sure there is something I can find that will give me both.

First what I have/use currently:

Base layer:

UnderArmour ColdGear Long sleeve Compression Mock – had this for several seasons now and love it.
    Hot Chilly Skin Midweight bottom – picked it up on clearence recently, used it a few times and love it. Very light but still warm, hardly remember its there. Probably isnt the best on the market but it was very cheap, its not too heavy(both in material and actual weight) and compacts quite nicely (smaller than soda can) so I fell that role is filled well.

Outer Layer:

Burton Snowboard jacket shell – Had this for several seasons, I know its heavier than one might use when going full LW packing but remember this is ski gear as well. Its very water resistant/proof, has vents for cooling and plenty of great pockets for small items that I always try to have with me no matter what.
    Some generic snow pants, cant recall brand but they work fine.