Topic

First impressions of the Altai Hok Skis

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) First impressions of the Altai Hok Skis

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Kyle Meyer
    BPL Member

@kylemeyer

Locale: Portland, OR

As some background, I'm a somewhat avid snowboarder. I've ridden for 15 years. I taught snowboarding for two years in college at a local ski resort. I'm comfortable with the steepest and most technical double black diamond terrain I've come across at resorts. I've carried my snowboard up a handful of volcanos around the pacific northwest, including this weekend when some friends and I climbed Mount Saint Helens. But I'm only a beginner downhill skier and an occasional cross-country skier.

That said, I just got back from a two night ski-in ski-out cabin trip with my wife and another couple where I took the Altai Hok skis with the universal bindings. Everyone snowshoed except for me. There was very little difficult terrain and the trail to the cabin was well worn. I had so much fun on these skis.

Everything I love about Tenkara fly fishing is what I love about these skis—they are a compromise of sheer performance and versatility in exchange for simplicity. There is no wrestling with skins, no slipping on steep uphills like with a waxless base, no trouble navigating tight woods and climbing over logs, and no trouble making simple linked turns down moderate slopes. Simply put, these are good enough at getting around in the woods that they disappear.

I'm extremely pleased with the price, performance, and simple ease of use these skis offer.

Anybody else get a pair of these yet?

David Chenault
    BPL Member

@davec

Locale: Queen City, MT

Sweet Kyle, which size did you get?