Topic

PCT in Oregon 2012

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Trip Planning PCT in Oregon 2012

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Ian Skelton
    BPL Member

@inotleks

Locale: Pacific Northwest

I am new to the BPL community and have learned a lot from reading the site, specifically the forums. I plan to hike the PCT NOBO through Oregon in 2013. In preparation for this I want to spend a lot of time in 2012 doing short trips in multiple places on the trail.

To get to the point…Where on the trail would be a good place to hike to in a day to meet up with thru hikers? Somewhere between hwy 20 and 26 maybe? When would be the best time to meet up with thru hikers in Oregon? Since I am only planning to be there for a few days at a time weight is not as important and I would like to provide thru hikers with an unexpected treat. What would you thru hikers be craving at this point in your journey?

My purpose is to meet people on the trail as it seems that there is where I would get the most insight.

Bob Bankhead
    BPL Member

@wandering_bob

Locale: Oregon, USA

Olallie Lake Resort. The resort no longer acepts packages and the store is minimal – although the beer is cold. Thrus will appreciate anything you can carry in, like fuel canisters and freeze dried meal packs. They'd no doubt pay for them too.

The PCT comes down from Jefferson Park at the old Guard Station and then heads north up the road rather than towards the store. This would be the best place to meet hikers, although most will at least stop by the store for a beer or snack items.

Timothy Lake. The PCT just skirts the eastern edge of the lake. Thrus may elect to get off here and stay in the USFS campground.

Dirk Rabdau

@dirk9827

Ian –