Topic

Undereating.

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Justin Baker
    BPL Member

@justin_baker

Locale: Santa Rosa, CA

I suffer from underrating on the trail. I will hike all day and not have much of an appetite when I get into camp. I will eat half a ramen packet and end up dumping the rest because I just can't eat anymore. I end up eating less than at home, and I already under eat at home. It's definitley a problem for me, I end up very exhausted when hiking more than one day. I am a little new to longer trips and I figured I would grow out of this, but my recent trip to big sur was hard going and I did not feel all that great at times.

Do you guys have any advice for this? And yes, I do smoke the mary jane but that didn't help much.

Eli .

@feileung

Cleland's "Super Spackle" looks like a great way to get calories in quickly.

Does eating make you sick or does it just not sound good? If its the latter I'd just say to consider it another component of endurance and eat because you need to, not because you want to.

Also, nuts and crackers. Just eat one or two at a time all day long if you can't/don't want to eat a meal of them.

That's all I've got. I have the opposite problem when hiking. I could eat peanut M&M's all day long.

Justin Baker
    BPL Member

@justin_baker

Locale: Santa Rosa, CA

I try and snack as much as possible. Eating doesn't make me sick, it's just I often have no appetite.

David Thomas
    BPL Member

@davidinkenai

Locale: North Woods. Far North.

On high mileage multi-day trips, I used to lose weight.