Topic

UL Shell and Winter Backpacking

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Winter Hiking UL Shell and Winter Backpacking

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Joslyn Bloodworth

@joslynb

Locale: Southwest

I've spent the last couple of years trying different seasons out with day hikes to see what seasons suited me best before sinking a ton of money into a lot of gear. I have recently decided that after careful consideration, I am a three seasons hiker, as long as those seasons are Fall Winter and Spring. But I was raised in Arizona and have only come to the SE in the last 5 years. I have no experience camping in snow. I also am trying to buy just one set of gear for all seasons as much as is possible. So I would like my UL rain shell to work for going over down pants in the winter. I am thinking of going with either silnylon or cuben. I don't mind the non breathable part of either of these fabrics and I'm looking to go DIY.

With that in mind, I am asking, for my needs, what are my options and the pros and cons of those options?

Andy F
    Spectator

@andyf

Locale: Midwest/Midatlantic

For winters in the Southeast, I think waterproof breathable shells are the best. eVent is ideal, but expensive. I'm currently using a DriDucks jacket and fairly heavy GoreTex pants for that temperature range, but I plan to switch to an eVent top.

A non-breathable waterproof shell over down wouldn't be something I would do. I don't need insulated pants until the temps are at or below the dry-cold range close to 15-20F. That depends on camp activity and fire vs. no fire. At those temps, snow can just be brushed off, and a non-waterproof shell works better.