Topic

Advice for working with Cuben

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Advice for working with Cuben

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Nicholas Martin

@namaniac

Locale: SoCal-High Desert

I just got a new sewing machine over the weekend and started playing around with some cuben i recently bought. My machine has like 20 different stitch options. After practicing some different stitch types, i decided to make a small stuff sack and close the ends using a zig zag stitch. Now, maybe its just me getting used to a real machine (i am a novice in every sense of the word) but i find it difficult to control the speed of the machine, so it felt like sometimes the material would "get away from me" if that makes any sense. Then when i slow down, i feel like im messing up the stitch.
    IS there a secret to working with cuben vs other materials?
    Is there a particular stitch pattern you guys use? The zig zag looks to be inherently the strongest, but will add more thread to the project….
    IDK just curious…

Nicholas Martin

@namaniac

what do you use to cut cuben? maybe i need better scissors….

William Zila
    BPL Member

@ultralightwillinn-m

Locale: Albuquerque

Get a good thread tension long stitch length minimum stitches. And cut with a straight edge razor cuben will dull scissors quick

Michael Pappas

@mpap89

Locale: bay area

i'm pretty sure most people use an x-acto knife when cutting cuben.

Nicholas Martin

@namaniac

Thanks guys!
    Ill try out some of the longer stitch settings and pick up a new exacto knife or razor blade tomorrow!

Dan @ Durston Gear
    BPL Member

@dandydan

Locale: Canadian Rockies