Topic

Careers working in the great outdoors

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Careers working in the great outdoors

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Chris Jones
    BPL Member

@nightmarcher

Inspired by the "What do you do for a living?" thread, I wonder if anyone would be up for a discussion on careers related to the great outdoors?

I am an IT Project manager, and I spend most, if not all, of my 8-hour day sitting at a desk in front of a computer. I try to surf as many outdoor/nature-related websites that I can to fuel my mental escapes. But still there's no substitute for the real thing, am I right?

So, recently I have been doing some research, trying to figure out what my career options are. I am not looking for a career in the outdoor industry per se, I just want to work outdoors (and get away from a desk/computer at least 50% of the time). Also, I am looking into "viable" career options, "viable" meaning I can support a family, pay mortgage on a modest home, etc.

So, for those of you already working in the outdoors:

1. What do you do? How did you end up in your current role?
    2. What sort of skills, experience, or education (qualifications) is required for obtaining a job in your field? What sort of personal qualities are necessary for suceeding in your job?
    3. What is your ratio of desk/office work to work in the field?
    4. What are the most satisfying/least satisifying aspects of your job?
    5. What are the current and projected employment trends in your field? Are jobs being added or elimnated, etc.? How stable is employment?

Thanks in advance…

Sarah Kirkconnell
    BPL Member

@sarbar

Locale: Homesteading On An Island In The PNW

Here are a few thoughts: