Topic

Advice on 2 Person Tent Design

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Advice on 2 Person Tent Design

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Robert Burke
    BPL Member

@coastiebob

Locale: Wishing I was Backpacking

Hey folks,

I am looking to build my own 2 person tent. It will utilize 4 trekking poles as the only time I would use this tent is when my wife or a friend is with me. The floor dimensions are a little different than it shows in my google sketchup. They are 90×54. The vestibule would extend out 21 inches. With the flat slanted roof, I think it would shed rain, but would have a tough time withstanding any snow load. I am not an engineer and am not sure about wind worthiness, but guess better than some, worse than others. I was planning to add vents on the front and rear and bug mesh from top to bottom similar to a lunar duo.

I was fortunate enough to buy some sil 2nds from David at Oware (thanks) so I plan to get to it after making a stuff sack or two to get the hang of sewing sil. If it turns out reasonably, I will consider using a lighter material.

What are your thoughts?Two Person Tent Initial Design

Paul McLaughlin
    BPL Member

@paul-1

Looks like a cool idea. I think that with the sidewalls as steep as they appear to be, you will have a hard time getting enough tension on the two ridgelines. Extending the vestibules further out to the sides will help, or you could add guylines from the peaks out to the side. If you can mock your design up with plastic sheeting or a blue poly tarp you may get more insight into how the design works. or you can mock it up with some fabric at a smaller scale – like 1/4 or something.
    Also – I'd think about some ventilation options.

David Wills

@willspower3