Topic

Gear List for PCT; advice appreciated

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Gear List for PCT; advice appreciated

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Case Ramsey

@caserr

I'm preparing my gear list for hiking the PCT in 2013. I am fairly new to backpacking but have plenty of time to collect the things that I need and test them out. I plan on doing the Colorado Trail next summer as a test run before I do the PCT and figure I'll learn a fair amount about what I need/don't need. Anywho, I've compiled a list of things that I currently plan on bringing. If anyone has advice concerning what stuff is extraneous or how to lighten the load I would appreciate it. My goal is to strike a balance between pack weight and camp comfort.
    My list is located at:
    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AnVBSozIP75XdFJMbXcxTE1nUDZLbXo0bGRDS01saVE&hl=en_US

Thanks.

Evan Parker
    BPL Member

@ecp12

Locale: Upstate NY

So this is most preliminary stuff, but two of your big 3 are much heavier than they need to be. If you're looking to go UL, you can get a smaller, lighter pack and you cut cut some major weight with a bivy and a tarp instead of the full fledged tent. Pick up a copy of Mike C's book off of Amazon, it will literally be eye opening. Welcome to the UL state of mind!

Here's a link to his book:
    http://www.amazon.com/Ultralight-Backpackin-Tips-Inexpensive-Lightweight/dp/0762763841

It truly will help you cut a ton of weight off of your base weight and will make your thruhike much more enjoyable.

todd
    BPL Member

@funnymo

Locale: SE USA

You only need one knife…drop the heavier one.

Drop the sleeping bag liner. They don't add appreciable warmth and your clothing will keep your bag clean enough.