Topic

LW Mountain Rescue gear?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Mountaineering & Alpinism LW Mountain Rescue gear?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Brett .

@brett1234

Locale: CA

I would appreciate any advice from mountaineers; especially those with rescue experience.

I am just beginning my study of alpine mountaineering, and I am choosing some gear to assist me in the unlikely event my group or I need to call for assistance. Since I will probably never use it; it should be light and economical.

So far, I chose:
    – ACR MiniB EPIRB
    – Garmin Geko GPS
    – 3 Watt "17 mile" GMRS/FRS radio
    – Of course my cellphone: can be pinged by the service provider for triangulation.

These four items cost $400 and weigh about 500 grams.
    I am wondering if it is wise to carry flares or smoke? I know the most important electrical devices are the synapses in our brains, but any other suggestions for gear are welcome. My trips will be overnighters in the North Japan Alps.
    Thank you in advance.

Summit CO

@summit

Locale: 9300ft

Holy crap!

ACR I hope you didn't pay any money for the EPIRB. That EPIRB is meant for maritime use and they will be phased out in two years. EPIRBS are freaking useless in the mountains when compared to other terrain. The last 121.5 search I went on the satellite was convinced it was over 5 miles away from where it was an that was a new model ELT not a dinky cat B type II EPIRB.

FRS/GMRS is only usefull if there is someone else in range listening and for 17 miles you had better be on the top of a mountain with brand new warm batteries and optimal atmospheric conditions with a very nice receiving unit line of sight on the other end. 1-4mi is a more reasonable estimate.