Topic

AT thru list SoBo July start

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists AT thru list SoBo July start

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Charlie Byers

@cbyers701

Hi everybody, im posting a tentative gear list (some items bought, some not) for a SoBo AT thru in 2013 (yeah i know a long ways off) and many many prep hikes in central va/shennendoah area. Please note I do not have a postage scale… yet, so many weights of the smaller items are estimated and may be wildly inaccurate (also I am a novice hiker with only 15 or so overnighters under my belt and dont know how much soap, deet, sunscreen, etc. to bring on a thru) any corrections on weights or advice about how much of a particular item to bring between resupply would be most welcome. As are any suggestions on the temp ratings of gear and clothing, and obviously the weight of my gear. I will be hiking with my girlfriend and much of our gear will be shared, making this list really difficult to format. Please forgive my disuse of a spreadsheet as I am technologically challenged. I look forward to all your sagely advice (especially mikes ruthless but always helpful critiques, though I wont budge on my use of t.p :)), thanks in advance.

Packing, shelter, sleep
    golite jam 24oz
    Jacks r Better Mt.Rogers (2person quilt) 30oz
    thermorest zlite short 10oz
    MLD duomid 16oz (havent bought any comments on this shelter would be appreciated)
    Oware 2person bivy 11oz (receptive to getting MLD duomid innernet for summer)

Cooking, hydration
    Caldera Ti-Tri w/ 900ml pot 12oz (too big? remember cooking for 2.)
    Platy Hosier 3.0L 4oz
    2 1liter gatorage bottles 3oz?
    (i know, redundant, but my girlfriend drinks insane quantities of water and the platy is mostly for camp and will most likely remain empty while on the trail)