Topic

Tear it to shreads

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Tear it to shreads

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Sam Ridge

@samridge817

Locale: North Carolina

Hello everyone I'm pretty new to BPL and ultralight backing as well. I have been planning an AT thru for almost a year now. My last trip was a 2 day 2 nighter in the Smokies on the AT and I think my pack weight was at 18 or something… in the summer.

I have some obvious weak points right now (rope, off the top of my head, etc). I plan to work these out before the 16th of this month because that is when I am leaving for my longest journey yet. 115 miles on the AT from Marion, Va to Kincora Hostel. This will be a good sized jump for me. I've been preparing a lot.

I'll take opinions, criticisms, rants, advice, and whatever else you can give me; however minor or major. Without further ado…Here is my list and thank you for looking.

http://www.geargrams.com/list?id=4344

Pilate de Guerre

@deguerre

Locale: SE, USA

Heya Sam,

Welcome to BPL.

I've tried to offer frugal advice.

Pot holder: Do something to avoid carrying that pot holder. Maybe drill a couple small holes near the top of the pot and use some bailing to lift, while using a sock from the bottom to tip to pour. Or wrap some fiberglass wick around it so you can pick it up that way. Just do something lighter so you're not carry so much single-use weight. Should save you almost the full 43.43g.

Cooking pot: Your aluminum pot could be traded for a "Type II" Foster's can. The gist is to open it from the bottom so the flat top can be used with your stove. A savings of 2.5oz. You may lose some fuel efficiency if this switch is to a narrower pot but the weight savings might make sense on shorter trips or sections with less time between resupply.