Topic

Questions about packrafting the escalante river, utah

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Packrafting Questions about packrafting the escalante river, utah

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    drew doty
    BPL Member

@saltyotter

hi there i am new to pack rafting and really love utah. i wanted to try and packraft the escalante river from fence canyon to either coyote or some other canyon further down next june. yeah i know i am a constant planner! i have never done any packrafting. when is the flow good enough that i wont bottom out on gravel bars but not to high that it gets to technical? what is a good cfs to look for when hitting the water and are the readings from the park service reliable to what current water conditions feel like? also, does anyone have a book by roman dial i could buy off of them to help me out?

thanks for any help,

drew

Joseph Catlett

@sn0wbound

Drew – June is the most likely month for a packraft trip on Escalante. Good thing you are a constant planner, it will come in handy with this trip. Here is some basic information:

The gauge station is a good reference, but not much else. I would recommend you do NOT attempt a trip without the gauge station reading at least 5 cfs, I don't know where the general recommendation of 50cfs came from, but in a packraft that would be a fairly technical ride. The gauge doesn't show any of the major tributaries and their contribution to the flow is significant. At times Boulder Creek can double the river flow and Boulder is not measured and comes in at Mile 8 after the Highway. Pine creek is also a major contributor and it's confluence is after the gauge.