Topic

Mummy Liner Pattern

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Mummy Liner Pattern

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Scott McCain
    BPL Member

@highlander366

Locale: Idaho

Hello all, this is my first time posting. I would like to know if any of you have attempted to make your own liner and if so what can you offer as advice and did any of you use a pattern?

I was thinking about using Windpro fleece (attempting to extend the range of my 15 degree bag), I know that silk is another good choice, but any other suggestions for warmth? Thanks.

David Wills

@willspower3

Silk is far warmer for the weight and bulk than fleece. I've made 6 silk liners in the past 2 weeks and I love them. I use 5mm silk from thai silks. it is 36" wide, which turns out to be perfect. For a pattern, I used 4.25 yards (80" or so), french seamed the sides, roll hemmed the top, and then did the stuff sack treatment to the bottom (sew and cutoff triangles, then french seamed, as seen on the stuff sack article on this site). 2.5 oz total, much lighter than any other silk liner on the market. I would say it adds 6-7*. Cocoon says their silk liners add 9.7*, but are thicker. Silk also feels great, and is cheap (at least 5mm is).

Jim Buch

@jim_buch

I have been to http://www.taisilks.com and really don't understand what is meant by a 5mm fabric specification, or what type of fabric it would be found within.

Can you say a little more about the fabric? I apparently don't understand silk nomenclature at all.

Bill Fornshell
    BPL Member

@bfornshell

Locale: Southern Texas

Jim,
    You need to look under the listing for Habotai Silk and the 5mm is product number 21F.

Jim Buch

@jim_buch

Thanks,

It looks like a very affordable project too. Will give it a try.

Michael Pearce

@mroy79

Locale: Northern Utah