Topic

Mild Weather Pack Kit.

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Mild Weather Pack Kit.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Justin Baker
    BPL Member

@justin_baker

Locale: Santa Rosa, CA

I am a newbie to this whole ultralight thing, but I think I did pretty well with the gear that I have. Coming from the bushcrafty world, I get a lot of satisfaction from doing more with less. This is for hiking in mild weather with 50+ degree night time temps. Any suggestions or input would be appreciated.

Pack:
    Golite Peak 1 lb 6 ounces (22 oz)

Sleeping Gear:
    USGI poncho liner (used as a blanket) 1 lb 5 oz (21 oz)

Shelter:
    USGI poncho (mostly used as shelter) 8 oz
    50ft line – 3.4oz

Clothing:
    Red Sweater Shirt – 8.0z
    Extra boxers -2 oz

Tools:
    Mora #2 Knife – 3oz
    Gerber Slide Saw – 4oz

Fire Kit:
    Small Firesteel, REI Stormproof Matches, Fatwood Stick – 1.9 oz

Lights:
    Black Diamond Headlamp (w/o batteries) – 1.3 oz
    2x AA Batteries- 0.8 oz
    Extra Batteries- 0.8 oz

Toiletries:
    Toilet Paper – 1oz
    Travel Toothbrush – 0.4 oz
    Tiny Toothpaste Tube – 0.5 oz

Water Containers:
    (1)Nalgene Bottle- 3.7 oz
    (2)Nalgene Bottle- 3.7oz

Cook Gear:
    Gsi SS cup: 5.1 oz

Msc:
    Small First aid kit- 1 oz
    Bug Repelant- 1 oz

Total: 92 oz.
    5.75 pounds

Notable exceptions:
    Fuel/Stove: I just use wood unless I absolutely have to use a stove.
    Pad: I guess I am tough. It's not the end of the world for me to sleep on the hardest, most compact campsites with no pad. I usually sleep off trail under a heavier canopy where the ground is plenty soft for me. If I am not overly worried about leaving no trace, I will make a bed of boughs or leaves.

Cesar Valdez

@primezombie

Locale: Scandinavia

I was surprised by the weight, that is pretty low.