Topic

Long Weekend UL Gear List

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Long Weekend UL Gear List

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Neal Anderson

@nmanhipot

Locale: North Georgia

Greetings, all. I'd love to get some feedback on my first UL gear list (see my profile). I have warm weekend excursions in the North Georgia mountains in mind here. I have the option of including a bug net, but I'm not sure it'll work too well under the low ceiling of the tarp poncho. I'd obviously have to wait until after a rain shower to set up my tarp since that's also my rain gear. Hmm.. Also, I've never used the drops before, I'm used to more immediate gratification with a traditional filter or UV sterilizer. Do you all wait four hours before drinking? Are three 1-liter bottles enough?

Stephen P

@spavlock

Locale: Mid-Atlantic

Neal,

Nice list. It's difficult to critique unless I be very critical. In that case, nix the knife and the towel. Go with a razor blade and use your bandana as a towel. Also, you could repackage your sunblock into a minidropper bottle to get down to about 0.4-0.5oz. On longer trips I like taking a small knife with scissors in case I need to do some toenail work, but a razor blade is just fine for weekend trips.

Do you carry a small repair kit?

Drops are kind of a personal thing. I've used them. I can tolerate them. But…I'm also willing to carry the extra weight of a gravity filter. When I use drops, I only wait 30 minutes. And 3 1 liter bottles are plenty. I only carry enough for 2 liters…most of the time I only use 1 liter. I just recently got a 1 liter bottle from Rum Runners that I'm going to try out in a few days. Lighter than a platypus bottle, but it looks like it's built well.

Mike M
    BPL Member

@mtwarden

Locale: Montana